Awandering we did go ~ photo story :-)

No surprise where my son and I went for a walk this weekend, to Derwentwater, along my favourite path down to Friar’s Crag.  The sky was rather dark and dismal, it kept drizzling with intermittent rain.

Gloomy, gloomy sky but invigorating walk 🙂

I felt a bit bad, my son didn’t have a coat with him (hello, he’s 20 & I did suggest it before we left, it being a bank holiday and all).  However he insisted he was fine, he didn’t want to borrow the umbrella I had in my handbag, he had the hood of his t-shirt up and a jumper on.  Me he called a wimp, and un-Cumbrian, because I had my poncho on … I called myself prepared lol.  He seemed happy enough though 🙂

Even though it has drizzled, with some real rain, a fair bit this week I think a lot more rain is needed in the Lake District … the level is rather low at the moment.

Derwentwater 06/04/2012

View from Friar's Crag ~ a wee bit misty today

Yes it snowed last week but Spring has most definitely sprung 🙂  Two years ago this hedge was laid so severly in places I wondered if parts might die off.  This link shows how to lay a hedge South of England style, not like the hedge here.  Page 2 and 3 on here shows how my memory had faded and I had no need to worry, it was simply done in the old Cumberland style, which I have done myself in the past … long past lol.

2nd February 2010 ~ nice to see old techniques like hedge laying being used but worried it might be too severe.

Close up of the hedge, see why I was worried!

I'm pleased to see it all growing so well 🙂

We had a lovely walk, my son waited most patiently while I took the photos I did and while I spent some time with the tree I ‘belong’ to.  As we neared the start of the lakeside path I notice two trees with blue arrows painted on … I hope they’ve not been marked for removal!

"This Way Up"

Are they for lost squirrels?

The first arrow is on the tree on the far left, you can see the second one.

Virtually every time I take this walk, whatever time of year it is, I see at least one robin.  He will often spend quite a fair peice of time with me, bobbing from bush to bush or sitting on the path near me.  During the winter months I take some food, usually a cereal bar, to share.  If I don’t see a robin I usually feel an emptyness inside, especially if it is a solstice or equinox, however this walk I felt a gladness of my heart, full of energy and joy.  I’d heard birds singing and whistled back to them but even though I’d seen no hint of a robin I was nearing the end of the lakeside walk happy and unworried.  Then, there he was, there in the hedge.  He sat quiet happily and posed for a few pictures, singing to me.  That just completed the day, a message from my gods 🙂

I didn’t take as many photo’s as normal on this walk, I usually take about two hours starting from the lakeside carpark and on this walk with my son we only took one and a half hours starting from the middle of Keswick.  With the rain I didn’t want to keep him standing around.  If you are interested I made a set from some of my photo’s in my flickr account, there are a ‘few’ photographs from my visits to Derwentwater over the years lol.

About Willow

II'm a 45yr old divorced pagan with a son (He's 23 now? How did that happen?) who wants to explore the world ... well the UK anyway (one of my dreams is to have a camper van, preferably a personalized one).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Awandering we did go ~ photo story :-)

  1. Lovely photos willow.. Love the robin wud love to visit there one day

  2. Willow says:

    Thank you Mrs Luckyluck, you WILL get over here some time hun, you know you’re welcome 🙂

  3. magrat1957 says:

    I really enjoyed reading this Willow – felt like I was walking alongside you both … I love the pictures too – my favourite is the one of D I think … love the little yellow flowers punctuating an otherwise grey dull day.

Leave a comment