Pagan Blog Project ~ I is for Individual

I think the word INDIVIDUAL is the best descriptive for a pagan whatever path they follow.  You may have five, or five hundred, pagans who have all chosen the same label to ‘wear’, to help others know what they are about, but the likelyhood is that the meaning they each hold for that lable will be at least slightly different.  There is a saying I love:

Trying to organise pagans is like trying to herd cats.

This is because one thing we all have in common is that we are all individuals who are very unlikely to simply follow, we want to know why, we question, discuss, share and learn.

I am myself, I am in individual, I am a Pagan and if a more specific label is required/needed I am a witch and the dieties I speak with the most are my Lady Moon and the Horned God.  However if I spoke with others who use the same words to describe themselves I am sure we would differ on some or many things.  To me one of the glories of choosing the pagan path is that while you can choose to follow a set ritual/way of doing things you are not expected to.  If it harms none, do as you will.  Join others in an organised gathering of any size, meet with a few friends, go to a special place and share the turning of the wheel with whoever else attends, go where you can be alone or stay in your own house/garden.  All are right and none are wrong … if it is what works for you.

It was one of the best feelings ever, discovering I was not alone, that there was a reason attending my families church had been leaving me hollow and feeling wrong, realising I was simply on another path, had been on for many years and it had a name.  It was pagan and it wasn’t a set of rules to be followed but an individual journey of discovery and celebration.

About Willow

II'm a 45yr old divorced pagan with a son (He's 23 now? How did that happen?) who wants to explore the world ... well the UK anyway (one of my dreams is to have a camper van, preferably a personalized one).
This entry was posted in Pagan Blog Post and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pagan Blog Project ~ I is for Individual

  1. A celebration of what, though?

  2. Willow says:

    In it’s simplest form, a celebration of life, the world we live in and the wheel of the year.

  3. In hate rules and even though I am not a pagan and must me, and will touch on the word witch… To which I probably am when you look back at the meaning of witch re healing etc.. It’s very true that in life generally we are all individuals but people are not allowing themselves to be individuals sadly… I use to go Sunday school but from young age I never believed in the bible etc or religion you just know..

Leave a Reply

