Pagan Blog Project ~ H is for Hagstones

Some might be wondering what a Hagstone is, well I’m going to share my thoughts and then I’ll google it and see if “they” agree with me 😉

Hagstone Hunting 🙂

A hagstone is a stone which has a hole worn all the way through it, worn naturally by erosive action of sand and other stones, not drilled by human kind.  They help protect from negativity whether general energies or specific spell casting.  They are best placed in windows and/or doorways, the entrances to a home.  They can also be kept in vehicles and, if small enough, worn.  I thought I had three or four hagstones.  Two were where I knew them to be; a medium one I keep on my front windowsill (behind the fairy, i.e. the window side) and a small one hanging near the mirror in my bedroom.  However the large one I thought was on my son’s windowsill (at the back of the house) isn’t there … hmmm must remember to ask him when I next speak to him.  Accepting as he is of his Mam’s “Witchy Stuff” I don’t think he took it to uni with him. 🙂

Hagstones were originally called so because they were used to protect against witches (hags).  They were not just put by house doorways, they would be hung in the stables to prevent the horses from being “hag-ridden”, especially by blacksmiths looking after other’s horse, and they were put in bedroom windows and on/near children to protect their dreams from being “hag-ridden” i.e. nightmares.

My front windowsill

Can you see the hole?

Brought out so you can see her better.

My small hagstone

In this reverse view you can see how much smaller the hole is.

The small hagstone on the ribbon, well some would say it isn’t ‘really’ a hagstone.  The hole is wholly natural (sorry, I couldn’t resist) but, as you can see in the second picture, it is not really large enough to view the stars through.  That is one criteria some say applies for it to be a ‘proper’ hagstone, you must be able to view the stars through them.  This is partly because it is said if you are lucky enough to be looking in the right direction you can see into the world of the fae through a hagstone.

It is always best if you manage to find your own hagstone, stoney beaches are best.  I have spent many hours head down and bum up wandering along a shore looking for stones, often with my good friends Magrat and Debra.  Indeed after work today I drove down to the shore and was lucky enough to find the tide on the turn.  I always keep a pair of crocs in my boot for the express purpose of shore walks and decided to had a wander along the shore.  As I intended to write this weeks Pagan Blog Project post on Hagstones I decided to look for one.  I thought it might feel odd doing so without my friends but I wasn’t alone, the sea and the goddess were with me.

I did find a hagstone, but not for me.  It’s a really small one, perfect for its purpose of being a protection amulet, it will be their choice to wear it, put it up at their home or keep it on their car keys.  I didn’t find one for myself today, another time, a wander on the shore is always soul satisfying 🙂

Hagstone I found this afternoon.

I’ve had a wander around the google results, it was interesting, here are a couple of samples.

Wikipedia doesn’t have a very long entry.  In fact it took me to a page about Adder stones, says they are usually glassy and mostly lists the various names such things are called …

“In Britain they are also called hag stones, witch stones, serpent’s eggs, snake’s eggs, or glain neidyr in Wales, milpreve in Cornwall, adderstanes in the south of Scotland and Gloine nan Druidh (“Druids’ glass” in Scottish Gaelic) in the north. In Egypt they are called aggry or aggri.”

The Talogwitch has a short but thought provoking entry for hagstones, here are two excerpts …

“Hag stones are rare holey stones with the hole right through from one side to the other,  gifts from the goddess Gaia, our Earth Mother, to remind us of the divine feminine, and the magic and wonderment of creation.”

“However the truth has always remained the same- witches since the dawn of time have used these stones as protection from negativity, using them as portable amulets that epitomize the strength and protection of the circle; one element surrounding another, in the case of a hag stone earth surrounds air; another natural example is an island, earth surrounded by water, hence islands were sacred places.”

Traditional Witchcraft have another short but interesting entry for hagstones which ends with a blessing they say is from the Gospel Of The Witches (published 1899) and is to be said over the hagstone if you find one.

“I have found, A holy-stone upon the ground. O Fate! I thank thee for the happy find, Also the spirit who upon this road Hath given it to me; And may it prove to be for my true good And my good fortune!”

Forestelf wrote a very interesting blog on this very subject nearly a year ago, you can find it here on the Pagan Federation Mid-West and Wales website.

I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed the walk on the shore it inspired and the time spent thinking, reading and writing it  =)

About Willow

II'm a 45yr old divorced pagan with a son (He's 23 now? How did that happen?) who wants to explore the world ... well the UK anyway (one of my dreams is to have a camper van, preferably a personalized one).
This entry was posted in Pagan Blog Post and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pagan Blog Project ~ H is for Hagstones

  1. magrat1957 says:

    Hagstone hunting has to be one of my favourite pasttimes … I’d recognise that ass anywhere – although like yours mine is shrinking lol I’ve collected hagstones for years even before I really knew what they were about – there is something very satisfying about these stones – I think for me it’s to do with the power of the sea to smooth the stones and rub one against another to work away at tiny weakspots in the stone until a perfectly round hole is worn through … magical!

Leave a Reply

